People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 11

March 17, 2013






Intellectuals Welcome Sangharsh Sandesh Jathas


A NUMBER of prominent intellectuals, writers and theatre activists of Delhi issued, on March 12, 2013, the following statement, expressing solidarity with the Sangarsh Sandesh Jathas that started from four directions and are already under way, en route to Delhi.


“We welcome the Sangharsh Sandesh Jathas which, after traversing the length and breadth of the country are converging at Delhi on March 19 at Ramlila Maidan. We express solidarity with the call of the Jathas for people’s unity to struggle for their basic rights, against communalism and to demand a reversal of disastrous economic policies.”


The statement was signed by C P Bhambhri, Rajendra Yadav, Prabhat Patnaik, M M P Singh, C P Chandrasekhar, Romi Khosla, Jayati Ghosh, M K Raina, Veer Munshi, D N Jha, Arjun Dev, Asghar Wajahat, Utsa Patnaik, Asad Zaidi, Indira Chandrasekhar, Juber Razvi,  K Ashok Rao, Madangopal Singh, Badri Raina, Ibbar Rabbi, S Irfan Habib, Zoya Hasan, Jasbir Jassi, N K Sharma, Sudhanava Deshpande, Moloyshree Hashmi,  Praveen Jha, J M Parekh, Chanchal Chauhan, Kanti Mohan, Rekha Awasthi, P K Shukla and Sohail Hashmi.