People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 21

May 27, 2012



CPI(M) Chalks Out Statewide Movement Plan


Dusmanta Das


MEETING on May 15 and 16, the Odisha state committee of the CPI(M) has decided to launch a campaign movement at local levels. The main issues are the price rises, corruption, distribution of surplus land to landless gratis, 10 decimals of homestead land as declared by state government for those who do not have any dwelling house or homestead land, protection of the rights of sharecroppers, providing record of rights on forest land to tribals and other traditional forest dwellers, universal public distribution system, 35 kg  of rice or wheat per month at Rs 2 per kg to all the families, employment and minimum wage of Rs 10,000 per month, and curbs on social oppression and discrimination. The campaign programme was to start from May 20 and continue for one month.


While reviewing the statewide movement against the stiff electricity tariff hike, the state committee decided to continue it further and make it wider.


The state committee also decided to observe the birth centenary of late Comrade P Sundarayya, general secretary of the CPI(M) after the party’s reorganisation and a veteran of the communist movement in India, in a befitting manner through seminars, publication of books to highlight his contribution in various fields, and by making the communist movement stronger, and by organising party classes. Detailed programmes will be chalked out later.


CPI(M) Polit Bureau members Nirupam Sen and Surjyakanta Mishra guided the state committee meeting.


Earlier a well attended general body meeting comprising district committee members was organised, wherein Nirupam Sen and Surjyakanta Mishra reported on the political resolution, political organisational report and resolution on certain ideological issues, adopted by the 20th party congress.


The state committee elected a nine member secretariat consisting of Janardan Pati (state secretary), Sivaji Patnaik, Jagannath Mishra, Santosh Das, Ali Kishore Patnaik, Dusmanta Das, Bishnu Mohanty, Sisir Hui and Suresh Panigrahi.