People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 29

July 17, 2011


MAHARASHTRA: CPI(M) Demonstrations Flay Fuel Price Hike


In the last week of June, the CPI(M) held immediate demonstrations in several parts of Maharashtra to strongly condemn the Congress-led UPA regime for the back-breaking price rise of diesel, petrol, kerosene and cooking gas.


The largest and most militant 8500-strong protest demonstration was organised by the CPI(M) at Solapur. An overwhelming number of the participants were women, with a large section of Muslim women. After the demonstration and the public meeting, an effigy of the UPA regime and its anti-people policies was burnt. The action was led and addressed by CPI(M) state secretariat member and ex-MLA Narsayya Adam, Naseema Shaikh, Nalini Kalburge, Siddhappa Kalshetty, Yusuf Major, Venkatesh Kongari, Kishore Mehta, Mashappa Vite, Murlidhar Sunchu, Rangappa Mareddy and others.


In Mumbai, big demonstrations were held at Andheri, Bhandup, Worli and Mira Road. Thousands of leaflets were distributed to the passers-by, many of whom joined the action. The meetings here were addressed by CPI(M) state secretariat member Mahendra Singh, state committee members Sayeed Ahmed and Dr Vivek Monteiro, district secretariat members Ashok Bannerjee, Shailendra Kamble, Ramsagar Pandey, Sonya Gill, district committee members K K Prakashan, Sugandhi Francis and others.


In Thane district, despite the sowing season and the gram panchayat elections that had just ended, over 2500 people took part in protest demonstrations by the CPI(M) at Jawhar, Vikramgad, Talasari and Dahanu. They were addressed by CPI(M) state secretariat member Rajaram Ozare MLA, state committee members Barkya Mangat, Edward Vartha and Ratan Budhar, district secretariat members Shivram Girandhala, Ladak Kharpade and others.


In Pune, a joint demonstration by the CPI(M) and CPI was addressed by CPI(M) state secretariat members Ajit Abhyankar and Kiran Moghe, state committee member Shubha Shamim, district committee members Vasant Pawar, Saraswati Bhandirge, Milind Sahasrabudhhe, Vishal Jadhav and CPI leader Shanta Ranade.


In Nashik city, an effigy of the fuel price hike was burnt. The demonstration was addressed by CPI(M) city secretary Shridhar Deshpande and others.


In Ichalkaranji in Kolhapur district, there was a court arrest programme led by CPI(M) leaders Datta Mane, Bharma Kamble, Sada Malabade and others. Another rasta roko stir was conducted in the same city by the DYFI-affiliated Physically Challenged Welfare Association.


In Yavatmal district, the CPI(M) organised demonstrations in Yavatmal city and Pandharkavada tehsil. Thet were led by state committee member Shankarrao Danav, Govind Sidam, Anita Khunkar and others.Similar actions were held in other districts.


As part of the Left parties call for a movement against corruption from July 15 to 21, the Republican Left Democratic Front (RLDF) has decided to culminate it on July 21 all over the state by means of joint demonstrations and public meetings at the district and tehsil centres.