People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 28

July 11, 2010

Left Front Wins Durgapur MLA Bye Election

THE following is a UNI report on the election results of the Durgapur assembly seat: "The Left bastion remained undestroyed in the Durgapur - 1 Assembly seat with CPI(M)'s Archana Bhattacharjee  winning the Bye Election with 53,513 votes on July 08, 2010. Trinamool-backed Congress nominee Banshibadan Karmakar received 44,696 votes while BJP's Koushik Roychoudhary bagged 4,243 votes. RJD's Sunil Yadav got 1,735 votes.
Of the total 1,39,262 voters, 1,04,187 votes were cast. Wearing a winner's smile, Ms Bhattacharjee said, "The victory is not mine alone, it's my party's victory." 

According to the detailed report on the results of the Durgapur-1 Bye-elction - 2010, the Left Front candidate of CPI(M) Party scored 51.36 per cent of votes while the Trinamool-backed Congress candidate got 42.90 per cent of votes. Two others were independent candidates.