People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 13

March 28, 2010



CPI(M) Wins Tripura RS Seat Unopposed


THE CPI(M)�s Jharna Das has been declared elected unopposed for the sole Rajya Sabha seat from the state. As nobody else from any other political party had filed a nomination, the CPI(M) nominee was declared elected unopposed.

On March 19, Tripura legislative  assembly secretary S M Lodh handed her over the certificate of election.

Jharna Das is the second woman after Ila Bhattacharya and the first member  from the SC community to be elected MP from the state.

The tenure of the outgoing Rajya Sabha MP from the state, Matilal Sarkar, shall expire on April 2.