People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 20 

May 24, 2009



CPI(M) Candidates Re-Elected

With Decisive Margins

Haripada Das


THE Left Front sponsored CPI(M) candidates Khagen Das and Bajuban Riyan have won both the Lok Sabha seats of the state of Tripura with huge margins. Khagen Das has been re-elected in the election defeating his nearest contender Sudip Roy Barman of Congress with a margin of  2,48,549 votes from Tripura West constituency and Bajuban Riyan has been re-elected with a margin of 2,95,581 votes over his nearest contestant Dibachandra Hrangkhawl of Congress party from Tripura East constituency.


Both the parliamentary constituencies have 30 assembly segments each. In all assembly segments the Left Front candidates maintained their decisive lead including those where the Left Front candidates had lost in the last assembly elections in 2008. Though BJP, NCP, TMC, Amara Bangali, CPI(ML) and independent candidates were in the fray, all of them have suffered forfeiture of their deposit.


The Tripura Left Front committee, in a statement issued on May 16, 2009 conveyed its warm greetings to the voters of the state for electing the Left Front candidates with huge decisive margins. This victory indicated that the people of the state once again overwhelmingly reposed their faith on the Left Front government for its transparency, sincerity, and efforts in carrying out the developmental programmes adhering to the democratic norms in spite of limitations and constraints. This is a vote also for the Left parties for forging relentless movements highlighting the urgent issues relating to the all round development of the state.


The forces of vested interests unleashed scandalous and misinformation campaign against the Left Front. But the people of the state could not be misled. The utter defeat of the communal forces in the state reflected that the communal forces have no room in this state, the LF statement noted. The Left Front is aware of the greater responsibility placed on its shoulders to honour this popular mandate. They assured the people that they will remain committed in launching popular struggles to protect the unity, integrity and sovereignty of the country and with the demands for more power and resources for state’s development.


The Left Front congratulated its workers and supporters for their sincere work among the people and urged upon them to consolidate this victory to ensure another victory in the bye-election to the Town Bordwali assembly constituency scheduled to be held this month end and Gram Panchayat elections in August of this year.



Tripura  West Constituency


          Total Votes                              10,93,799

          Valid Votes Polled                      9,37,517


          Khagen Das CPI(M)               5,63,799

          Sudip Roy Barman, INC           3,15,250

          Nilmani Deb, BJP                        25,468

          Sanjib Dey, NCP                           3118                  

          Arun Chandra .Bhowmik AITC      5504

          Others (5 candidates)                  24,378


Tripura  East (ST) Constituency


          Total Voters                                       9,88,466

          Valid Votes Polled                              8,20,984


          Bajuban Riyan, CPI(M)                   5,21,084

          Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl, INC 2,25,503

          Pulin Bihari Dewan, BJP                         33,989

          Ritarani Debbarma AITC                         4191

          Others (5 Candidates)                            36,217