People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 20 

May 24, 2009




AIADMK And Allies

Win 12 Lok Sabha Seats


THE outcome of the elections to the 15th Lok Sabha in Tamilnadu has been a mixed bag. The ruling DMK-led front including the Congress party and the Vidudhali Chiruthigal Katchi (a dalit political outfit) won in 28 of the 40 seats in Tamilnadu and the union territory of Pudhuchery, while the remaining 12 seats had been bagged by the AIADMK-led alliance, with nine for AIADMK and one each for CPI(M), CPI and MDMK.  


The election campaign in Tamilnadu was marred by the brazen misuse of the official machinery, vulgar display of money power and planned violence let loose by the ruling DMK using goondas and anti-social elements. Such corrupt practices were at its peak in the Madurai parliamentary constituency where M K Azhagiri, the elder son of the state chief minister, was fielded by the DMK against the sitting CPI(M) MP, P Mohan.


From the beginning, it was widely reported in the media that Azhagiri’s election campaign would be a repetition of the ‘Thirumangalam model’. Thirumangalam was a state assembly constituency where a by-election was held recently, and where the DMK indulged in massive ‘cash for votes’ money distribution. It had also resorted to gross misuse of official machinery. The Election Commission itself had commented derisively of the large scale violations of model code of conduct by the ruling party.  At the end, however, Azhagiri won this seat by a margin of around 1,40,000 votes, while he had vowed to win by a margin of 3 lakh votes!


The CPI(M) won the Coimbatore Lok Sabha seat this time where its candidate P R Natarajan defeated his nearest rival R Prabhu, former union minister, belonging to the Congess party by a margin of 38,664 votes. The CPI candidate P Lingam was declared elected from the Tenkasi seat. The MDMK won the Erode seat. The AIADMK candidates registered victories in South Chennai, Tiruvallore (Reserved), Villupuram (Reserved), Mayaladuthurai, Trichy, Karur, Salem, Pollachi and Tirupur constituencies.


CPI(M) regains Coimbatore seat after 42 years. In 1967, Comrade K Ramani had won the seat.

The Party state secretariat met at Chennai on May 18, 2009. The meeting adopted a resolution thanking the voters of Tamilnadu who had exercised their franchise in favour of the candidates of the AIADMK-led alliance. It also thanked the voters of Coimbatore, Madurai and Kanyakumari constituencies for casting their votes in favour of the CPI(M)  candidates. The meeting paid homage to Comrade C P Damodaran, a working class leader who had led the trade union movement in Chennai for over 50 years.


The Party state secretariat condemned the large scale misuse of official machinery and violence indulged in by the ruling DMK and its allies throughout the state. It demanded of the state government to withdraw all the cases foisted on the leading functionaries of the CPI(M) and its allies on the basis of false complaints lodged by the ruling party men.


The meeting also condemned the attack on the office of film director Bharathiraja who had been campaigning against the DMK and Congress and demanded immediate action against the culprits.


The secretariat vowed to continue to champion the interests of the people in the state and launch sustained campaign and struggle on the demands of the people, independently and in cooperation with other secular opposition parties in the state.









Total electorate                                -       11,63,328

Total votes polled                             -         8,24,407


P.R. Natarajan (CPI-M)                  -          2,93,165

R.Prabhu(Cong)                               -          2,54,501

E.R.Eswaran(Kongu Peravai)           -          1,28,070

R.Pandian(DMDK)                          -             73,188

G.K.S. Selvakumar(BJP)                 -             37,909






Total electorate                                -        10,22,421

Total votes polled                             -          7,90,902


M.K.Alagiri(DMK)              -          4,31,295

P.Mohan(CPI-M)                            -          2,90,310

K.Kaviarasu(DMDK)                      -             54,419






Total electorate                                -        11,73,308

Total votes polled                             -          7,65,286


Helen Davidson (DMK)                   -          3,19,968

P. Radhakrishnan (BJP)                   -          2,54,324

A.V. Bellarmin (CPI-M)                  -              85,572

S. Austin (DMDK)                          -              68,457