People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 11

March 22, 2009


Non-Congress - Non-BJP Parties Meet In New Delhi

A meeting of the leaders of the AIADMK, BJD, JD(S), TDP, TRS and the Left parties was held in New Delhi on March 15, 2009. H D Deve Gowda, Chandrababu Naidu, Prakash Karat, A B Bardhan, V Maitreyan, Jay Panda, K Chandrasekhar Rao, Debabrata Biswas, T J Chandrachoodan, Sitaram Yechury, D Raja, B Vinod Kumar, Ram Mohan Rao, Mysoora Reddy, Danish Ali, Abani Roy, Devarajan and E Dayakar Rao attended the meeting. They have issued the following statement:

We, the non-Congress, non-BJP parties, have resolved to work together to defeat the Congress and the BJP in the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections.

We shall work together to form an alternative government for the progress and welfare of the people of our country.

We appeal to all secular and democratic forces and all sections of the people to support this endeavour.

Naveen Patnaik, president of Biju Janata Dal has sent a letter to Prakash Karat saying, “ I endorse this press statement and wish all of us success in our endeavour in the service of the people of our country.”

Babu Lal Marandi also has sent a letter saying that he always favoured a non NDA- non UPA government at the centre and assured his party’s support after elections to the Third alternative.