People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 40

October 12, 2008


Construction Workers Organise March To Parliament

AT the call of Construction Workers Federation of India (CWFI), a march to the parliament was held on 26 September 2008 in New Delhi.

More than 5000 construction workers including 500 women construction workers came from 15 states - Kerala, Karnataka, Tamilnadu, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, J&K, Orissa, Haryana, Jharkhand, Assam, Tripura, Manipur, West Bengal, Rajasthan and Delhi. The workers wearing a badge and carrying red flags and placards with their demands, took part in the parliament march.

R Singaravelu, president, CWFI, presided over the meeting. The workers’ rally was addressed by M K Pandhe, president, CITU, Md Amin, general secretary, CITU, Tapan Sen, secretary, CITU and MP, Lakshman Seth, MP and Debanjan Chakraborty, general secretary, CWFI.

All the leaders congratulated the workers for participating in this impressive rally. They said pressure through struggle has to be mounted on both the central and state governments to implement the Construction Workers Central Act in the states and to set up Welfare Board to provide the social security benefits to the registered workers like pension, house building loan, medical assistance, children education assistance, maternity benefit, accidental compensation etc. Further, they said that the Indian migrant workers working in other countries also have to be protected. Anti-worker attitude and role of unscrupulous recruiting agents must be checked. Labour Laws of the receiving countries must be implemented for protecting the Indian migrant workers.

The rally was also addressed by Raghunath Singh, general secretary of Punjab state committee of CITU, Kasmir Singh Thakur, general secretary of Himachal Pradesh state committee of CWFI, Pravat Singh, (Haryana), Susena Tirkey (Jharkhand), Suresh Routh Ray (Orissa), Tapan Sharma (Assam), Pranab Majumder (West Bengal), Uppal (J&K), K V Jose (Kerala) and others and urged for continued struggles against new economic policies of the government of India.

From the dharna manch, a delegation comprising Tapan Sen, Lakshman Seth, R Singaravelu, Debanjan Chakrabarti and Pravat Singh and K V Jose, met the Labour minister, Oscar Fernandez in his chamber.

On our request, the minister has agreed to call national seminar on these vital issues involving all the central trade unions. The minister promised to immediately redress the grievances and problems of the workers that are brought to his notice. The dharna ended with a vote of thanks and by offering red salute to all the comrades who came to participate in the parliament march programme.