People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 38

September 28 , 2008



Nation Protests

COUNTRYWIDE protests were held against Manmohan Singh government's abject surrender to US imperialism on the issue of India-US nuclear deal on September 25, the day Manmohan Singh was meeting US president Bush in Washington to finalise the deal. These protests were jointly called by CPI(M), CPI, RSP, Forward Bloc, TDP and Janata Dal (Secular).

Several members of parliament belonging to the above mentioned parties, along with those of Bahujan Samaj Party, staged a protest demonstration in the premises of parliament house. The MPs gathered in front of the statue of Mahatma Gandhi and marched to Gate no. 8 of the parliament shouting slogans against the surrender of Manmohan Singh government to US. They attacked the deal citing passage of a Senate Bill in US on September 24, which explicitly sought to impose punitive measures on India if it were to conduct a nuclear test. Leading this dharna were former prime minister and JD(S) leader H D Deve Gowda, CPI(M) MPs Sitaram Yechury, Brinda Karat, Basudeb Acharia, CPI MPs S Sudhakar Reddy, D Raja, BSP MP Rajesh Verma, RSP MP Abani Roy and others.

The MPs also protested against the non-convening of parliament at a time when the country is faced with serious developments such as the serial terrorist blasts, relentless price rise, the adverse impact of the US financial crisis, as well as the attacks against Christian minorities. They criticised the government for showing gross contempt and for its violation of parliamentary democracy. The parliament has been convened only on October 17, well after the nuclear deal will be sealed in Washington.


Hundreds of activists of Left parties, Telugu Desam party and Janata Dal (Secular) staged a protest dharna at Jantar Mantar on parliament street against UPA government's surrender on India-US nuclear deal and bypassing of parliament in response to the joint call by these parties to observe September 25 as all India Protest Day.

The protestors were addressed by CPI(M) general secretary Prakash Karat, national leaders of other parties, MPs, and state leaders. The speakers were clear that this nuclear deal compromises India’s sovereignty and vital interests. The prime minister has gone back on his assurance that he will come back to parliament after getting the clearance from the IAEA and the suppliers group.

The Bush administration's determination to the US Congress has revealed that the commitment on fuel supply mentioned in 123 agreement is only ‘political commitment’ between Bush and Manmohan Singh. It is not a legal commitment for the US administration. Termination of the agreement is the sole right of the USA. India’s right for ‘corrective measures’ is only conceptual and USA is not legally bound by it. Similarly, NSG waiver totally rules out transfer of dual use technology for enrichment and processing. The promise to explore possibility of seeking other sources for fuel and technology is a myth. Once the US discontinues fuel supply, no other country could fill the gap as all of them are bound by this NSG waiver that itself is a bye-product to Hyde Act. All these clearly expose the surrender of the UPA government to US imperialism.

The protesters were led by Pushpinder Grewal, secretary CPI(M), Amarjeet Kaur, secretary CPI, Asit Ganguly from RSP, Dharmendra Singh from AIFB, Kunwar Danish Ali, general secretary Janta Dal (Secular).