People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 23

June 15 , 2008


Declaration Of Democratic Republic Of Nepal Hailed

The `Committee for Solidarity With Nepal' met on June 12, 2008 in New Delhi.  The meeting attended by Sitaram Yechury (CPI-M), D. P. Tripathi (NCP), D. Raja and Pallab Sengupta (CPI), Abani Roy (RSP), Rajive Ranjan (RJD), Dharmendra Kumar Verma (Forward Bloc), Vijay Pratap (Socialist Front), adopted the following resolution:

The `Committee for Solidarity With Nepal' welcomes the successful culmination of the process of restoration of democracy in Nepal with the election of the Constituent Assembly.  We hail the declaration of the democratic republic of Nepal and are confident that now peace and normalcy will be maintained, which is essential for the prosperity and progress of Nepal.

The Committee congratulates the people of Nepal, the political parties, the civil society groups and all other professional bodies who have together worked for the success of the republic.  

We hope that the new government, respecting the verdict of the people will expedite  the process of consolidation of the democratic republic in Nepal with the speedy adoption of its Constitution.  

We, on behalf of the Indian People, wish our Nepali friends all success in these endeavours.  We are confident that the relations between our two countries, its people and governments will further improve in the days to come.