People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 11

March 16, 2008


Intellectuals Condemn Attack On Sundarayya Kendram

SAHMAT issued the following press statement on March 11, 2008

WE the following academics, artists and concerned citizens strongly condemn the attack on the night of March 10, 2008 by miscreants led by RSS and BJP on Sundarayya Vignana Kendram in Hyderabad. These miscreants tried to burn the portrait of Putchalapalli Sundarayya and the thousands of books housed in the Kendram. They also attacked the staff that resisted the burning of the Kendram.

The Sundarayya Vignana Kendram, a renowned library, cultural and research centre has been striving for the last two decades in preserving the composite cultural heritage of the Indian civilization. It has the largest and rare collections of Telugu, English and Urdu books as also journals and manuscripts. Itís involvement in community service is enormous. Itís service to the global community of scholars in facilitating research into Indian history, culture and heritage is well acknowledged.

The attack on such a renowned cultural centre is totally unacceptable. It is against all norms of civil society. We are concerned with the increasing acts of cultural policing and fascist attacks and call upon the civil society to reject the politics of intolerance, hate and vandalism.

The signatories to the statement are:

Teesta Setalvad, Javed, Anand, Ruchira Gupta, Anurag Chaturvedi, Madangopal Singh, Amar Farooqui, Arjun Dev, Archana Prasad, Mihir Bhattacharya, N K Sharma, Prabhat Patnaik, Utsa Patnaik, Jayati Gosh, Badri Raina, Suvira Jaiswal, D N Jha, C P Chandrasekhar, Prabir Purkayasta, Chanchal Chohan, Aditya Mukherjee, Madhu Prasad, Indira Chandrasekhar, M M P Singh, Irfan Habib, Shireen Moosvi, Amit Sengupta, Dinesh Abrol, M K Raina, Vikas Rawal, Ram Rahman, Sesha Reddy, Javeed Alam, Manjari Katju, Atlury Murali, Shasheej Hegde, D Narasimha Reddy, Gali Arunkumar, G Sudarshan Reddy, Purendra Prasad, K Chakradhara Rao, Pillalamarri Ramulu, K Balagopal, G Haragopal, Kodandarami Reddy, L Pratap Reddy, Aribandi Prasad Rao, K Chinnaya Suri, N Venugopal Rao, K N Panikkar, Malini Bhattacharya, Parthiv Shah, Sohail Hashmi