People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 11

March 16, 2008


Bengal LF Candidates For Rajya Sabha

BIMAN Basu, chairman, Bengal Left Front has announced the names of the Left Front candidates for the Rajya Sabha seats that would fall vacant in a short while. The CPI(M) candidates are: Tarini Roy, Prasanta Chatterjee and Shyamal Chakraborty.

The first two candidates are sitting members of the Rajya Sabha. The Forward Bloc has sent in the name of Debabrata Biswas as its candidate who is also a sitting member. The names of the other LF candidates are yet awaited. The Left Front shall find an independent candidate as well to be put up and supported by it. The name is yet to be finalised.

(B P)