People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 08

February 24, 2008


Central PSU Workers Countrywide Strike On May 7, 2008


MORE than 400 delegates from all the major central public sector undertakings of the country met in a convention at Hyderabad on February 17-18, 2008 under the banner of Committee of Central Public Sector Trade Unions (CPSTU) - a united platform of trade unions of central public sector workers with various affiliations since 23 years. The meeting has decided to go for one-day countrywide strike by central public sector workers to be preceded by phased programme of campaign and agitation to press for their demands.


Among the prominent trade union leaders who attended the Hyderabad session included M K Pandhe, Jibon Roy, Swadesh Dev Roye, CITU; H Mahadeva, AITUC; R A Mital, HMS and members of parliament S Sudhakar Reddy, Tapan Sen and K Chandran Pillai.





As a step towards prolonged action programmes for realisation of above pressing demands, CPSTU unanimously decided to go for a countrywide strike by workers of all central public sector undertakings on May 7, 2008 and has adopted the following programmes:


Fax to prime minister and minister of Public Enterprises forwarding the CPSTU declaration in the letterhead of the unions

March 1, 2008


National campaign week through

gate meeting/general body meeting

leafleting, circulation of CPSTU

declaration in local languages

March 3- 8, 2008

Joint conventions at

industry/region/state level

To complete

by April 30, 2008

Solidarity day on

contract workers' demands

April 10, 2008

Submission of strike notice by joint demonstration at

industry/plant/unit/office level

April 15, 2008