People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Vol. XXX

No. 50

December 10, 2006

CPI(M) Wins Islampur


In the bye-elections for the Islampur assembly constituency in West Bengal held on December 3 the Left Front nominated CPI(M) candidate Sayeda Farhat Afroz defeated her nearest Trinamul Congress rival Choudhary Abdul Karim by a margin of 7,511 votes. The Congress candidate Hamidul Rahman stood third. 


The votes received by the three candidates are as follows:


1) Sayeda Farhat Afroz             47927         41.91%

2) Choudhary Abdul Karim    40416         35.34%

3) Hamidul Rahman                 22037         19.27%


The Left Front chairman Biman Basu congratulated the people of Islampur for ensuring the resounding victory of the CPI(M) candidate. Incidentally industrialisation of Islampur, in North Dinajpur district, was the major focus of the bypoll campaign. (INN)