People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Vol. XXX

No. 45

November 05, 2006

Schedule Of AIKS Jathas 


Jatha No 1 (North-East, East and North)


This jatha starts from Sabrum (Tripura) on November 5 at 8.30 a m and it will be inaugurated by Benoy Konar, vice president of AIKS. It will be led by Bajuban Reyan (MP) and joint secretary of AIKS, Samar Baora, joint secretary and Subodh Roy, vice president of AIKS. It will pass through Tripura, Assam, North Bengal, Bihar and UP.


From Tripura it enters Assam on November 7 at Karimganj. On the next day a huge rally would be held at Guwahati which will be addressed by Benoy Konar. In Assam it will be led by Nizamuddin Khan and K Chhetry, president and secretary of Assam State Kisan Sabha. After Assam the jatha enters West Bengal on November 9 at Coochbehar. Crossing north part of West Bengal, it enters Bihar on November 11 at Kishanganj. Then via Purnia it reaches Bhagalpur (Bihar) same evening to join the second part of jatha. In West Bengal, it will be led by. Abdoor Rezzak Molla, Bengal minister for revenue and Achintya Roy, CKC member. Rajender Singh Munda of Jharkhand and AIKS Bihar state unit secretary Abadhesh Kumar will join this jatha up to Delhi.


The second part of this Jatha No 1 starts from Behrampur (Orissa ) on November 2 at 9 a m and Suryakant Mishra, Bengal minister for health and panchayat and joint secretary of AIKS will inaugurate it. Abhiram Behra will lead this jatha. It reaches Dantan (West Bengal) on November 7. It will pass through West Bengal, Jharkhand and then join the first part at Bhagalpur, Bihar on November 11. After crossing Bihar it enters into UP on November 16 at Pratap Pur. There will be a kisan rally on November 18 at Sultanpur, which will be addressed by Suryakant Mishra, Dinanath Singh and D P Singh, secretary and president of UP Kisan Sabha. After covering UP it reaches Delhi on November 20. 


Jatha No 2 (South)


This jatha is also split into two parts. The first part will be flagged off from Kanyakumari on October 31 which after covering Tamilnadu enters Andhra Pradesh on November 7. The second part of this jatha covers Kerala from November 1 to 7 and then enters into Karnataka at Hosangadi on November 7. Both parts of this jatha meet at Hyderabad on November 12 at the public rally. Then the jatha advances towards Maharashtra. It enters into Maharashtra on. November 13, then to Madhya Pradesh on November 16 at Chhindwara. From MP the jatha it comes to Agra (UP) on November 19 before reaching Delhi. K Varadha Rajan, general secretary of AIKS will lead the jatha which passes through Kerala and Karnataka. The other jatha will be led by S Malla Reddy, vice president of AIKS and K Balakrishnan, secretary of Tamilnadu State Kisan Sabha. From Kerala M K Bhaskaran, president and C K P Padamnabhan, secretary and P Krishna Prasad, CKC member; from Karnataka Maruti Manpede and Bayya Reddy; from Andhra Pradesh B Tulsidas; from Maharashtra J P Gavit, state president of AIKS; from Madhya Pradesh Jaswinder Singh, president and Ram Narayan Kurariya, secretary of Kisan Sabha will join the jatha in their respective states.


Jatha No 3 (South-West)


This jatha starts from Mumbai on November 11 where N K Shukla, joint secretary of AIKS will flag it off. The jatha will be led by Ashok Dhawale, joint secretary of AIKS and Amra Ram, vice president of AIKS. It enters Gujarat on November 15 and then moves into Rajasthan on November 17 before reaching Delhi. It will be joined by L B Dhanger (Maharashtra); Kuberbhai Bhambhi (Gujarat) and Duli Chand (Rajasthan).


Jatha No 4 (North-West)


This jatha will be flagged off from Jammu on November 12 by Noorul Huda, finance secretary of AIKS. After passing through Palanpur (Himachal Pradesh) it moves into Punjab. On November 14 this jatha starts from Jallianwala Bagh in Amritsar and after moving in Punjab for three days enters into Haryana at Cheeka in Kaithal district. Then passing through Fatehabad, Hissar, Bhiwani and Rohtak it reaches Delhi for the culmination rally. This jatha will be led by Lehmber Singh Taggar, joint secretary of AIKS and will be joined by Rachhpal Singh, president of Punjab Kisan Sabha; Gulam Nabi Malik (J&K), Onkar Shaad (HP) Harpal Singh and Phul Singh, secretary and president of Haryana Kisan Sabha.