People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Vol. XXX

No. 36

September 03, 2006



In a landslide victory, the journalists team for ‘Continuity, Change and Action’, headed by veteran journalist and chief of bureau, India News Network (INN) S K Pande swept the prestigious Delhi Union of Journalists (DUJ) poll 2006 by bagging all the key posts.


Those elected to the key posts are president: S K Pande; vice president: Dinesh Chandra; general secretary: Javed Faridi; secretaries: Shamim Siddiqui, Madan Lal Talwar, T K Rajalakshmi and treasurer: Sujata Madhok.


Those elected to the executive committee are Mahesh Darpan, Anand Kumar, Harish Damodaran, Krishna Jha, P Sreekumaran, Amit Prakash Singh, GeetaShree, Kunwarjee Anjum, Aroop Sen, Mohd Iqbal, Mohd Saqib, Shehla Nawab, J C Varma, Jaspal Singh Siddhu, Rajesh Sharma, Anjali Deshpande, Aruna Singh, Neelam Jeena and Sarvesh.


Those elected to the national council of Indian Journalists Union (IJU) are S K Pande, Madan Singh, N Chidambaram, T K Rajalakshmi, Dinesh Chandra, Geetashree, Anant Mittal, Krishna Jha, Rajesh Sharma, R K Bhatnagar and Sarvesh.


A major highlight of the poll in keeping with the DUJ tradition since 1978 has been the large component of women winners and contestants. In the key posts are two women members and in the executive and national council of the IJU there are ten.


Two leading lights of the Indian Journalists Union, the treasurer of IJU and secretary of IJU, Delhi suffered shock reverses.


In a statement after the elections, the DUJ president, S K Pande called for consolidating the gains made by forces of struggle and called for strengthening the unity of the Confederation of Newspaper and News Agencies Employees Organisations, the Indian Journalists Union and the All India Newspapers Employees Federation (AINEF). (INN)