People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Vol. XXX

No. 20

May 14, 2006



People Vote For Change


 R Govindarajan


In the elections held for Tamilnadu state assembly, which was an important political battle for democracy, the Democratic Progressive Alliance led by DMK and the Left, inflicted a crushing defeat on the authoritarian AIADMK rule.  In this battle of utmost political significance, the DPA  won in 162 constituencies out of 234. This  includes 9 seats won by CPI(M) out of 13 that it contested and 6 by CPI out of 10.  The DMK has won 96 seats and the allies, the Congress 34 and the PMK 17.  Out of nine seats won by the CPI(M), three are held by women and the party has won two out of the three reserved seats it contested.  One seat the party has lost by a margin of 14 votes. 


The following are the CPI(M) winners in the state:


K Balabharathi - Dindigul 

G Latha  -  Guidyatham

Leema Rose - Thiruvattar    

Nanmaran Madurai (East)

S K Mahendran - Perambur

Govindasamy - Thiruppur

John Joseph - Vilavancode  

Dellibabu - Harur

P Marimuthu -Nagappattinam


The AIADMK has secured 64 seats, while its allies MDMK 5 and DPI 1. Two  independents have won including  cine actor Vijayakanth.


The victory of DPA reflects the yearning for  change that the people had over the last five years with a severe discontentment over the policies of Jayalalitha government. This victory will transcend beyond the politics of the state and record its impact at the national level too.