People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Vol. XXX

No. 12

March 19, 2006

J&k School Teachers’ Convention


THE School Teachers’ Association of Jammu and Kashmir organised a state level convention on February 24 at Jammu Club. Comrade M Y Tarigami, MLA, inaugurated the convention.


 The presidium comprised Sham Prasad Kesar, Banarsi Dass and Sohan Lal. Sukomal Sen, General secretary of All India State Government Employees’ Federation and Satya Paul Siwach, National secretary of School Teachers’ Federation of India attended the convention. The delegates and the veteran leaders of the movement endorsed the following demands of the teaching community.

  1. Constitution of Sixth National Pay Commission

  2. Constitution of National Education Commission

  3. Stop commercialisation, privatisation and communalisation of education

  4. Enhance GPF and EPF interest rates to 9.5 per cent

  5. Grant benefit of  earned leave and leave encashment for teachers

  6. Stop hire and fire policy by regularising all RET and SST teachers

  7. Observe transparency in transfers

  8. Provide in time grants to meet the salaries and arrears of teachers and employees

  9. Spare teachers from non-academic assignments


State committee was elected with the following office bearers.

Banarsi Dass – president, Asif Ali Malik – senior vice president, Mohinder Singh Fazal Chohan and Smt. Surekha Sharma – vice president, Darshan Lal, general secretary, Hari Singh, Chamel Singh, Prem Bhagat as secretaries, Ajab Singh, J A Agha, K M Tharmatt and Sardari Lal as organisers, Sewa Ram as treasurer, Ravinder Verma – public secretary, Kuldeep Khajuria- office secretary.


An advisory committee comprising five members was also elected. Sham Prasad Kesar, chief advisor, Sohan Lal, Krishan Koshal, Dharma Singh and Prem Sharma as advisors form the advisory committee