People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Vol. XXX

No. 11

March 12, 2006

LF Candidates For Rajya Sabha


The Left Front in West Bengal announced the names of three CPI(M) and one Forward Bloc candidates for the four vacant seats in the Rajya Sabha. Moinul Hasan, Tapan Sen, Saman Pathak (all CPI-M) and Dr Barun Mukherjee (Forward Bloc) are the nominees finalised by the Left Front committee at its meeting held in Kolkata on March 9, 2006.


They will be contending for the seats left vacant by Nilotpal Basu, Dipankar Mukherjee and Biplab Dasgupta of the CPI(M) and Manoj Bhattacharya of the RSP. Basu, Mukherjee and Bhattacharya have completed two terms in the Rajya Sabha, while the fourth vacancy arose due to the death of Comrade Biplab Dasgupta. (INN)