People's Democracy

(Weekly Organ of the Communist Party of India (Marxist)


No. 23

June 06, 2004

         Bengal Ministry Reduced


BENGAL Left Front government is the first state government to reduce the number of seats in the ministry according to the amendment made to the Representation of People Act. The Bengal Left Front had decided that the number of ministers would be reduced by five and would stand at 43. It had also resolved that three ministers of the CPI(M) and one each of the RSP and FB would tender their resignations.


The number was initially reduced when Mohd Salim (CPI-M) had tendered his resignation following his Lok Sabha victory. Later, on June 2, four ministers, Anju Kar (Minister-of-State, municipal affairs), Dhiren Sen (Minister-of State, panchayat and rural development), both CPI(M), Kalimuddin Shams (minister, food and supply), Forward Bloc, and Amalendralal Roy (minister, irrigation and waterways), RSP tendered their resignation as per the decision of the Bengal Left Front.


The concerned cabinet-level ministers will look after the departments of the two ministers-of-state. The re-allocation of the remaining portfolios will be decided upon soon, noted the chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee. He also told members of the media that the task of evaluation of the performance of various departments was an ongoing process with the Left Front government.